Biting the Apple

The wicked Queen offered a juicy apple to Snow White. She took a bite and she fell into the Queen’s spell. There she lie until the spell is broken.

How many Snow Whites are there out in the world? I am (was) one of them and slowly but surely the spell is breaking.

In the Microsoft and Macintosh race, in the 80’s and early 90’s, I made sure I used both. I created no preferences but want to familiarise myself with both OS. Macintosh was seen as the underdog and I couldn’t help but silently root for the underdog.

iMac G3 came to the scene in the late 90’s and I can’t help but love the sleekness. It had (has) style and it appealed to the creative group of people. Apple computers remain stylish and preferred machine to this group. And I remain, drooling over iMacs, Mac minis, Mac Pros, MacBook Airs, MacBook Pro every time I see them.

Yes, I still do love Apple computers.

But that is where my love affair with Apple products ends.

I have no (or ever had any) desire for their other gadgets… iPods, iPhones, iPads and whatever other i they have.

When the first iPhone came out, I admit I was curious, but I wasn’t Wowed by it, the way I was impressed with my first HTC phone and then by the HTC Desire HD and I when I saw the Samsung Galaxy Note, I straight away knew that was the phablet of my dreams (currently).

The reason I preferred these other phones is not because they ‘resemble’ an iPhone. In actual fact, to me they look or feel nothing like an iPhone. Unlike what Apple thinks, I can recognise the difference.

And I prefer Android rather than iOS.

It is as simple as that.

It’s like some people prefer Firefox, Chrome, Explorer, Safari… I prefer Android. So even if you stop Samsung or HTC from manufacturing phones that ‘looks similar and have similar’ feel to the iPhone, I will continue to buy Android phones.

If there are a lot of people with my thinking, what would you achieve with the court cases around the world? Apart from you looking like a rich spoilt brat?

You’re no longer the underdog. You have your hardcore Apple cult followers who will worship every single product you manufacture… why are you stopping others from developing… innovating. I’ve always thought that innovation was the core belief of the Macintosh. Where did you lose your way?

And today I read that you’re suing Amazon.com for using the word ‘Appstore’? How low can you sink? You have your Apple Stores. Apps stores are places where we can by applications. At least that is my view of it… so I guess that is why you are suing Amazon.com as obviously I’m confused…. and stupid.

OMG. That is it. That is what you’re trying to say about us consumers. We are confused. We are stupid. We do not know what we want. We shouldn’t have choices as we can’t be trusted to make our own choices.

Thanks Apple… for making me feel really ‘good’ about myself.

Leave a Reply

